The Biography Project: An Independent Reference Resource

  Oscar Zeta Acosta

  Nelson Algren

  Richard Alpert

  Georges Bataille

  Charles Bukowski

  William S. Burroughs

  Neal Cassady

  Raymond Chandler

  Aleister Crowley

  Richard Dadd

  Edward Dahlberg

  Philip K. Dick

  Allen Ginsberg

  Ernesto 'Che' Guevara

  Albert Hofmann

  Timothy Leary

  Cormac McCarthy

  Bettie Page

  A. G. Rizzoli

  The Marquis de Sade

  Iceberg Slim

  William Browning Spencer

  Olaf Stapledon

  Dylan Thomas

  Jim Thompson

  B. Traven

  Alan Turing

  Pancho Villa

  Charles Whitman

  Colin Wilson

  Emiliano Zapata


Nigerian Fraud Emails

site map


Cormac McCarthy

  Charles Joseph McCarthy, Jr .was born in Providence, Rhode Island in 1933. (He changed his name to Cormac, meaning son of Charles, later in life.)

  His family moves to Knoxville, Tennessee in 1937 where his father works on the legal staff of the Tennessee Valley Authority.

  Cormac attends the Catholic High School, enters the University of Tennessee in 1951.

  He enlists in the US Air Force in 1953, serves for four years, two of them stationed in Alaska.

  Returns to the University in 1957, publishes two stories in the student literary magazine, The Phoenix. He wins the Ingram-Merill Award for creative writing in 1959 and 1960. Marries Lee Holleman, has a son.

  McCarthy leaves the University without graduating, moves to Chicago, works as an auto mechanic while working on his first novel.

  Returns to Tennessee, divorces wife. He receives a traveling fellowship from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, takes an ocean liner to Ireland in 1965.

  The Orchard Keeper is published in May of 1965, wins the Faulkner Award.

  Receives a Rockefeller Foundation Grant in 1966, tours Europe, settles for a while on Ibiza, an island, works on second novel. Marries Anne DeLisle.

  Returns to US in 1967, lives near Knoxville at a small pig farm.

  Outer Dark is published in 1968.

  Awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in 1969, moves to a barn near Louisville, Tennessee. He renovates the entire barn himself.

  Child Of God is published in 1973, a novel based upon actual events.

  Separates from second wife in 1976, moves to El Paso.

  Suttree is published in 1979, a work that he had been laboring over for the last twenty years.

  He is awarded a MacArthur Fellowship in 1981.

  Blood Meridian, Or, the Evening Redness in the West is published in 1985, based on historical occurrences around the Texas-Mexico border in the 1840's.

  All The Pretty Horses is published in 1992, the first volume of The Border Trilogy. It wins the National Book Award.

  The Crossing is published in 1994, the second volume of The Border Trilogy.

  The third volume of The Border Trilogy, Cities of the Plain is published in 1998.

  These notes are indebted to the fine scholarship of Edwin Arnold and Diane Luce in their excellent study, Perspectives on Cormac McCarthy


"They came like a caravan of carnival folk up through the swales of broomstraw and across the hill in the morning sun, the truck rocking and pitching in the ruts and the musicians on chairs in the truckbed teetering and tuning their instruments, the fat man with the guitar grinning and gesturing to others in a car behind and bending to give a note to the fiddler who turned a fiddlepeg and listened with a wrinkled face." - The sublime first sentence of Child of God


 Major Works

  • The Orchard Keeper1965, 1993

  • Outer Dark1968, 1993

  • Child Of God1974, 1993

  • Suttree1979, 1993

  • Blood Meridian, Or, the Evening Redness in the West1985, 1992

  • All The Pretty Horses1992

  • The Crossing(Border Trilogy, Vol 2) 1994

  • The Stonemason: A Play In Five Acts1995

  • The Gardener's Son : A Screenplay1996

  • Cities of the Plain : A Novel1998

  • The Border Trilogy(all three volumes under one cover)



 Critical Works


  • The Achievement of Cormac McCarthyby Vereen M Bell


  • Cormac McCarthy (Twayne's United States Authors Series, No 679)by Robert L Jarrett


  • Perspectives on Cormac McCarthy(Edwin T Arnold, Dianne C Luce, Editors)


  • Sacred Violence : A Reader's Companion to Cormac McCarthy(Wade Hall, Rick Wallach, Editors)



  • All The Pretty Horses DVDor Video. Directed by Billy Bob Thornton

 Other Links


 Author: Bonesy Jones


  © 1999 - 2004 PopSubCulture(dot)com. All rights reserved. All lefts on a first-come-first-serve basis.

The Biography Project has had tens of thousands of visitors since july 1, 1999.